Meet a virtuous teen- M.V.T

IMG-20170122-WA0003.jpgM.V.T: Can we meet you please?

Seyifunmi: Thank you so much for the honour of being  interviewed on this platform. My name is OLA-SAMUEL Oluwaseyifunmi. The one who is loved by the One who is LOVE

 

M.V.T: Hmm… “the one who is loved by the One who is LOVE” I love that.
Can you please tell us about your educational background?

Seyifunmi: For my primary school education, I attended Glad Tidings Nursery and Primary School at Ibadan. And then i proceeded to Rhema Chapel International College where I was an Art student after which I gained admission into Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife where I  am presently studying Law.

M.V.T:  What motivated your choice of course?

Seyifunmi: Why Law? Lol. Okay…I’ve always wanted to be a lawyer right from when I was a kid. So it was more of a childhood desire. Also, my compassionate side didn’t allow me rest… you know,the raw desire to treat people right and see people been treated right and all.

 

M.V.T:  So what fellowship or church do you attend in school and what’s your involvement there?

Seyifunmi: I attend Christ Way Campus Resource (CWCR) OAU where I am a member of the welfare unit  and I was recently appointed as the Assistant General Secretary(AGS).

 

M.V.T: How has being the AGS affected you?

*Seyifunmi*: Hmmm. Well, it has been really challenging me to do more and give more. Its more of service for me. I see it as a call to serve and give more into people. And definitely you cannot give anything from an empty cup. So I can say in these last few months, I have been propelled to invest more in myself in other to enable me serve God and His people well and also to impact the lives He has placed around me with His
help. In addition to this, it has helped me become conscious of always doing the right thing i.e leading by example.

 

M.V.T: How has university life been for you?

*Seyifunmi*: Lol. Its been God o. Its definitely been tasking but then, when you have God and learn to rest on Him, He makes things easier. It has also been a platform to grow more, learn more and know more. So basically my life on campus is primarily centered around God and this has a way of  influencing the things I involve myself in; books, friends, activities, social life and all.

M.V.T: Since you’ll be saying goodbye to the  teen world this year tell us how teen life has been for you?

*Seyifunmi*: I had the regular teenage life. Attended classes and ensured I prepared well for exam. But one thing I appreciate about that season of my life was that, God had His eyes on me and helped me through the regular temptations of a secondary school teenager. Also, one way He helped me through this season, was by linking me with a teenage ministry- MINE Teenage ministry. I have been extremely blessed and sharpened by their conferences and magazines. And yes, I can’t but mention that I had teachers who became friends that believed in my raw form and gave me the push I needed.

M.V.T:What is your favourite bible passage?

*Seyifunmi*:I think any scripture that ministers to me at a particular time. But any scripture that reminds me of how much God loves me always bring tears to my eyes. So far its Isaiah 54:10(msg)

M.V.T:Please tell us about your salvation experience?

*Seyifunmi*: Salvation experience…I really don’t have a specific date. I grew up in a christian and God fearing home but I never took my relationship with God serious until I was about 13years. And at that time, God raised agents that made me long after Him. One very strong agent He used was MINE Magazine. It was really a propelling force to seek God then.  Also, my parents really contributed a great deal as they always spelt out the fact that God was and is still our only One.
Am I saying that the devil never tried snatching me away? No. In fact along the line, I got hooked on some addictions but then Jesus fought and won for me. And the journey with Him so far has been amazing and wonderful as I learn daily.

 

M.V.T:Tell us a little about life in secondary school?

*Seyifunmi*: Woah…life in secondary school for me was a little different from other girls o. Academically, it was wonderful. God blessed me with some wonderful teachers and amazing parents that believed in me and kept pushing me to my best. Although initially…in J.S.S 1, I wasn’t too serious but with spankings from Mumsi (Lol) and prayers, God took over my life😄. Boy issues…they were quite minimal though. Never received a love letter, no toasting from classmates and all, no valentine gifts(lol). Did I feel awkward during those times? Yes, but those times taught me to celebrate and love my self. So if you are going through same, please don’t let your self image or esteem suffer. Love and celebrate yourself. And enjoy every moment with God. Please make wonderful friends too. My best friend till date was my classmate and really I have never regretted we being friends. Please keep the right kind of friends.

M.V.T:What are your hobbies?

*Seyifunmi*:Planning and running around for events, listening to music, conversing and hospitality.

M.V.T:Please tell us about your life’s dreams?

*Seyifunmi*: To become a barrister and work with the United Nations. Also, to have an NGO committed to providing help to women and children and empowering small scale businesses. To own a large scale production farm, channeled to provide food for the citizens of this country, to build the Nigerian economy and fund kingdom projects. To own an event company and invest in business opportunities. Furthermore, to be a wonderful mother and wife. Lastly and most importantly is to be a representative of Christ on earth, daily exhibiting His very nature and to also live a life of purpose and impact.

M.V.T:How far have you gone in achieving these dreams and visions?

*Seyifunmi*: Well, God has really been faithful. He has been the major source of encouragement. Currently,I am in the university studying Law. Also, working on starting a small farm that would grow into that bigger dream. For the event company, I am presently attached to two companies that I work for, Bridal Showers and Transcend events. These and some other things are what God is using to actualize my dreams. And I am all that I am by the grace of God.

M.V.T:What role has your family played in making you who you are today?

*Seyifunmi*: Woah…really words can’t express how blessed I am to have them. They are my no one Fan. There has never been a time when their personal interest is forced on me. My family is one that encourages me to be whatever i want as long as its God’s plan for my life. They are ever supportive, encouraging, loving and always propelling. I can’t say how grateful to God I am that I have them. They have really made life easy.

M.V.T:How will you define virtue in your own words?

*Seyifunmi*: Truthfully, defining this is quite difficult as the word is an ambiguous one. But then I would say that it is making God proud, having a healthy and ‘blessed’ relationship with people, impacting lives and having good testimonies being said about you.

M.V.T:What do you think makes you qualify to be called a virtuous teen?

*Seyifunmi*: Well, the fact that I have God in me who is working in me both to will and do of His good pleasure. I am not near perfect yet but then with God as my Instructor, trainee and coach, then perfection is the end result.

M.V.T:What do you have to say about some teenagers that feel it is only when they are in their mid-twenties they can be virtuous?

Seyifunmi: Definitely, I don’t support this idea. Right where you are and at this current age is the time to start showcasing the virtue God has embedded in you. You are never too small to bring glory to God. Samuel’s life brought honour to God even when he was a child. To the glory of God,I organized my first major event at the age of 16. So I don’t believe there is a particular age and time to start being virtuous. Life is short and time waits for no man. So please starting living a virtuous and impactful life.

M.V.T:What do you think a teen must do or have to become virtuous?

*Seyifunmi*: Basically, please have and love God. Get deeply rooted in Him. Obey His instructions and leadings. There is no one who hands over his or her life to God and He doesn’t make it wonderful. Also, please love others.

M.V.T:Thank you. It was a pleasure chatting with you.

*Seyifunmi*: The pleasure is all mine

Leave a Reply

